3 things to know about Snapchat’s My AI

The social network is launching an AI chatbot based on ChatGPT

Phil Siarri
1 min readFeb 27, 2023
Screenshot of My AI presentation
Image: Screenshot of My AI presentation. Credit: Snapchat.

Snapchat today announced that it is introducing “My AI”, a new chatbot that uses the most recent iteration of OpenAI’s GPT technology.

Here are three key points:

  • This week, it will be made accessible to Snapchat+ users as an experimental feature.
  • My AI isn’t intended to function as a search engine, in contrast to Microsoft’s plans with Bing. Instead, it can be perceived as a virtual companion that you can communicate with.
  • Although it is built to steer clear of information that is inaccurate, dangerous, or deceptive; Snapchat is warning users to proceed with caution as the chatbot is “prone to hallucination and can be tricked into saying just about anything”, as with “all AI-powered chatbots”.

That’s a rather interesting and different ChatGPT integration in my opinion, as its purpose is mostly geared towards entertainment.

This story was first published on The PhilaVerse (my Substack newsletter).

--

--

Phil Siarri

Founder of Nuadox | Tech & Innovation Commentator | Digital Strategist | MTL | More about me> linktr.ee/philsiarri